Skip to content

Selecting a Database Mode

The data generated in InTime is saved in a highly portable encrypted database file named "intimeruns.db". By default, InTime runs in "user" mode. The alternative is "project" mode.

User mode versus Project mode

The key difference is where the InTime database file is stored. This mode also affects your ability to view and use the data and insights that InTime accumulates.

Database options

In User mode, the database file is saved within the <user home>/.plunify/ folder structure. All InTime-generated data, regardless of project, is saved here in a single file.

In contrast, the Project mode enables this database file to be created (if not already present) under the FPGA project folder. A user may have many different projects and may wish to keep the data in a single static database, inaccessible by other users. The advantage is that this enables users to use source revision control, e.g. git, on the database file and have individual database files for different projects. Any user with sufficient file permissions will thus be able to access the database.

Comparison User Mode (Default) Project Mode
File Location <user home>/.plunify/ <project folder>/plunify.jobs/
Design data All projects run by this user are saved. Only this project's results. Can be multiple users.
Design visibility Only active project is visible by default. Other results can be imported or unhide. All data should be visible by default.

Switching Database Modes

To switch to Project mode, enter this command in the Tcl Console:

misc set runs_db project

Or to User mode:

misc set runs_db user

Check Mode

To check what mode you are in, enter this command:

misc get runs_db